Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Apr 8, 2017 in News |

OZone Takes First Place

OZone Takes First Place

DSC_9246 (2) (1024x576)Before the start of the first race of the Louis Abrams Memorial Rum Race Series, the crew of Papa a’u streamed flower petals in the wake of their boat in remembrance of their fellow crew member. It seemed like there was a moment of quiet when the 8 boat fleet gave respect to their fellow yachtsmen, and then the start horn sounded.

DSC_9317 (2) (1024x576)In spirit, Louis showed his gratitude by giving Papa a’u the best start of the fleet. OZone was also well positioned on their windward beam as the pair aimed for the Kalapaki buoy rounding. At the buoy, a traffic jam that would only rival those seen in Kapaa happened and Fast Company fouled Papa a’u. Once beyond the buoy the fleet spread out. Fast Company did their penalty turns setting them back in the fleet. The biggest boat in the fleet, Bonjolea II, had the fastest speed through the water and lead the way out to the Lighthouse buoy. DSC_9422 (2) (1024x576)In the lead, it was Bonjolea II, then OZone raising their spinnakers on the return leg back into the harbor. There was some added excitement as a commercial barge left port just as the fleet crowded into the harbor entrance but everybody observed the COLREGS (International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea) and the race continue without incidence.

DSC_9481 (2) (1024x576)Under beautiful blue skies and fair winds, Bonjolea II led the way to the finish line with an elapsed time of 1:10:53. OZone corrected out with a PHRF first place with 1:13:55, Fast Company with a second place at 1:14:34, and Papa a’u with a third place at 1:15:17. Club Class had Bonjolea II finishing with a first place at a corrected time of 1:12:40, Speedy finishing with a second place at 1:14:50 corrected, and Kato finishing third at 1:16:00.

The next race of the six-race Louis Abrams Memorial Rum Race Series will be on April 13th when the flags fly at 1700. The public is invited to view the race from the harbor jetty, as well as to attend the after-race dinner at the Nawiliwili Yacht Club clubhouse immediately following the race.

Kevin Arndt

Click here for photos by Charlotte Ross and Kathie Masters

Share This